My Greatest Gift

I remember the first ultrasound

I saw of both of you.

Kaitlyn was dubbed “Little O.”

Sky became known as “Baboo #2.”

I never cared if either of you

Were a girl or a boy.

All I prayed to God for

Was a healthy bundle of joy.

My greatest gift in life….

Is not the money I have made,

Nor the jobs I have had.

Is not the places I have gone,

Nor the people I have met.

Is not the houses I have owned,

Nor the diplomas I have earned.

Is not the lessons from my mistakes,

Nor the praise for my successes.

Is not the friends I have,

Nor the journeys I have taken.

My greatest gift in life

Began the very first moment

I saw you and has continued

For every second of every day thereafter

I have been blessed to spend with you.

My greatest gift….

Is the two of you.

(And, I thank your mom,

Who with me,

Made each of you possible.)

****

There’s too many pictures to include in this post.  However, some additional pictures are below.  There is Memorial Day weekend 2009, when the two of you were 4 and 2.  Then, the picture of Kaitlyn on my shoulders after we raided Crate & Barrel for the sales the day after Christmas in 2008.  And, a similar picture of Skylar, giving me bunny ears, as we waited in line for a snack at a UCONN women’s soccer game in September 2013.

I love the two of you “to the end of the universe and back, and then some.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

