Wherever You Will Go

Kaitlyn & Skylar,

“Wherever You Will Go” by The Calling was one of two “Kokie Songs” we used to sing together as a family. The other Kokie Song was Natalie Merchant’s “Kind & Generous,” which was the first song Kokie and I listened to at the start of every road trip we took together.

(For those who do not know, Kokie was the Siberian Husky/German Shepherd mix I got up in Pike, NH during my third year of law school. For our first three years together, she and I did everything together.  Kokie became Kaitlyn’s dog — her best friend. In fact, Kaitlyn could tell better Kokie puppy stories than I could! Several Kokie pictures are attached as a collage at the bottom of this post.)

This song was always meant to simply be about Kokie, as she related to us as a family. She loved us dearly, and we loved her. She protected all of us and no dog could ever take her place. Whenever we listened to this song, it was as if it were written by The Calling for her to be sung to us.

After Kokie’s death, both these songs became too difficult for you to hear in the Jeep let alone sing.  The loss of Kokie for me was great, but I had experience with the loss of dogs.  You, on the other hand, did not.  However, none of us have experience with divorce, parental alienation and their effects.  I, now, know how hard it must have been for both of you to listen to this song after Kokie passed away.

For now, I have lost you.  We aren’t apart. What makes it tough is that you are out there, and I am unable to be in your lives right now.  I immediately think of the two of you when I hear this song and shed a tear or two.  But, I sing it because it gives me hope and reminds me of times of love and joy together.

Now, when I hear this song, I feel it is written not just for Kokie to us, but also for me to both of you. Maybe, someday, somehow we’ll find a way to make it back to each other. If you hear this song, know that Your Dad is with you wherever you will go, always.

In my absence, I pray that God watches over, protects, nurtures and guides both of you while I am unable to do so.

I love you “to the end of the universe and back, and then some.”

Wherever You Will Go
by The Calling

Here is a link to the video for this song (from YouTube):

Here are the lyrics (from Google music)

So lately, been wondering
Who will be there to take my place
When I’m gone you’ll need love to light the shadows on your face
If a great wave shall fall and fall upon us all
Then between the sand and stone, could you make it on your own

If I could, then I would,
I’ll go wherever you will go
Way up high or down low, I’ll go wherever you will go

And maybe, I’ll find out
A way to make it back someday
To watch you, to guide you through the darkest of your days
If a great wave shall fall and fall upon us all
Then I hope there’s someone out there who can bring me back to you

If I could, then I would,
I’ll go wherever you will go
Way up high or down low, I’ll go wherever you will go

Run away with my heart
Run away with my hope
Run away with my love

I know now, just quite how
My life and love might still go on
In your heart, in your mind, I’ll stay with you for all of time

If I could turn back time, I’ll go wherever you will go
If I could make you mine, I’ll go wherever you will go
I’ll go wherever you will go

Written by Aaron Kamin, Alex Band • Copyright © Universal Music Publishing Group, BMG Rights Management US, LLC

 

Leave a Reply

