How much I love you

 

IMG_9448
“Guess How Much I Love you” was a book I read to the girls when they were toddlers. (Image taken from a Google search)

Well, you may have forgotten how I came up with the phase, “I love you to the end of the universe and back, and then some.”  It is actually a phrase Kaitlyn and I came up with after reading the book, “Guess How Much I Love You,” when she was 3 or 4 years old.  Skylar, I read this book to you, too.  And, you enjoyed going through this hierarchy of phrases with me after we read the story together just as much as Kaitlyn did.

As the title suggests, the story is about a child, Little Nutbrown Hare, and a father, Big Nutbrown Hare, discovering just how much they love each other.

After reading the book one night, Kaitlyn said to me, “Daddy, I love you to the moon and back.”  I looked at Kaitlyn, into her loving eyes, and tried to show her that I loved her just a little bit more by saying, “I love you to the moon and back, and then some.”

The wheels were definitely spinning in Kaitlyn’s head.  In fact, there was a little smoke coming from her ears.  She looked at me and said, “Daddy, I love you to the moon and back, plus infinity.”  Infinity!  I thought, “How did she know about infinity?  I’ve never used that word.”  Then, I thought of Buzz Lightyear proclaiming, “To infinity and beyond!” in Toy Story, which we had recently watched.

Not wanting to be upstaged by my daughter’s use of love’s infinity trump card, I thought long and hard and then said, “I love you to the end of the universe and back, and then some.”  Without hesitating, Kaitlyn looks right up at me and says, “Daddy, I love you to the end of the universe and back, plus infinity.”

At this point, I realized we had both used the infinity trump card.  Infinity is, well, infinite as is the universe.  Although, infinite plus infinite may constitute more than infinite and then some….

I gave Kaitlyn a big hug that night (as I did every night I read to her).  In that moment and each time Kaitlyn and Skylar did this good night routine after our bedtime reading and stories, I remember being overwhelmed with pure happiness and joy as their father.

4 thoughts on “How much I love you

  1. As someone who experienced parent alienation…..I know that reading a blog like this written when the story was unfolding would have been helpful. Your girls may one day read these lovely memories and recall all those moments again. I hope you continue to re-member your family by simply remembering with them in this blog until the day your girls can decide which story makes sense. What a treasure a daddy who loves his children will be for them as they grow. Their hearts will help them know the truth of the situation sooner or later

    Like

    1. Thanks for this. Experiencing this for the past four plus years with two daughters now 12 and 10 and seeing your story on the other end is helpful and comforting. Just a shame all the unnecessary “stuff” has to happen to children regardless of age during the “in between.” And, you don’t know how long the “in between” time is going to be….

      Like

Leave a Reply

